The average tenure for a CMO is just over three and a half years, according to new research from Winmo, a sales intelligence platform. With more than eight years of research analyzing the career track of 2,400 CMOs across various industry, the report revealed the average tenure for a CMO was 42.7 months, with the median CMO career lasting 33 months. Winmo’s report offered a broad range of data for agencies and media companies aiming to build relationships with C-level marketing leaders. What the average CMO tenure means for ad agencies and solution providers. Winmo says more CMOs move out of their positions sometime between their 30- and 45-month anniversary. Based on this data, the company said the best time to connect with CMOs is within their first year on the job. “We’ve found the sweet spot for engaging with CMOs is soon after they’ve started a new role, within three to twelve months,” reports Winmo. This means any agency trying to win over a new client by way of its CMO should be..
Marketers need to understand users’ behavior across platforms, and Branch is launching a new cross-platform, cross-channel cohort analysis on Thursday that it says provides a quicker way to do that. Based in Redwood City, California, Branch began as a provider of intelligent “deep-links” that linked from an email, mobile web site page or in-app ad to a specific screen inside a destination, usually a mobile app. If that app wasn’t yet installed, the deep link opened to the app’s listing in an app store to download it. Cohort analysis from engagements. With this new cohort analysis, Branch is going beyond its previous event-based reporting, such as how many users installed an app after clicking on a specific link. Now, it is tracking cohorts of users across platforms and over time. Initially, it will track groups that install an app from Branch links, or re-engage with an app after installing it or who re-engage a web site after clicking a Branch link. Branch’s links can reside in virtua..
It’s that time of the year again. The Stackies 2019: Marketing Tech Stack Awards are now open for entries. The Stackie Awards are given each year at our MarTech Conference to acknowledge noteworthy marketing stacks. By participating in this visualization exercise, companies have an opportunity to reflect on their own stacks, while getting a sneak peek into others’ thought processes. Conference Chair Scott Brinker says that The Stackies “isn’t a vanity award, but an educational program. Everyone in the marketing community benefits from the entries.” Digital marketers agree. In a LinkedIn post last month, digital technology consultant Farid Mheir posted what the award show means to the martech community: Farid Mheir post: LinkedIn Slideshow co-founder Amit Ranjan lauded the show for its depth of perspectives. This is a GOLDEN deck for all digital marketing folks! It captures marketing stacks of 54 diff tech cos. See examples from Cisco, Hubspot, Juniper, Kurtosys -> "The Stackies 2018: M..
Advertisers can now select conversion-based bidding in Google Display Network. Google has announced the availability of conversion-based bidding for display campaigns called “Pay for conversions”. Why you should careWith the new bidding options, advertisers are charged when users convert from the ads rather than for ad clicks or impressions. Similar to Google search campaigns, advertisers that want to pay by conversion set a Target CPA (cost per acquisition) in the Bidding section of campaign settings. In an example of how the pricing works, Google offered, “Let’s say your target CPA is $10, and you drove 30 conversions over the weekend. You’ll pay exactly $300, with an actual CPA of $10.” Pay for conversions uses the same bidding algorithm as click-based payment. Google says, “you’ll never pay above your target cost per action.” The goal is to generate as many conversions as possible at that target threshold. Your account must have more than 100 conversions in the past 30 days to be e..
An emailed bomb threat hoax sent Thursday afternoon has terrorized businesses and organizations across the US, Canada, Australia and New Zealand. Claiming to have planted bombs all over the building, the email demands ransom in bitcoin or the bombs will be detonated. The email extortion scam, which states “I advise you not to call the police,” appears to be getting out of hand after a number of institutions took it as credible and evacuated the area. Each email comes with a different bitcoin address, writes Brian Krebs. Source: KrebsonSecurity.com The scam has so far been sent to financial institutions, banks, school districts, universities, newspapers and courthouses. The National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center (NCCIC), part of the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Agency, is aware of the global campaign and advises recipients to not contact the sender, not pay the ransom and immediately inform the FBI about the bomb threat email. Australia and New Zealand, who..
Weak security in third-party vendors strike again in the medical world. Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Frisco hospital in North Texas announced payment information, including partial credit card info, of some 47,000 patients or guarantors maybe have been compromised following a security incident with the third-party’s credit card processing system. The data breach was detected on September 29. The hospital immediately canceled credit card processing through the compromised vendor and started an investigation. Critical information such as names, mailing addresses, birth dates, telephone numbers, date of birth, medical record numbers, insurance provider data, dates of service, account numbers, credit card types, last four digits of the credit cards, CCV numbers, recurring payment dates, account balances and invoice numbers may have been compromised between Sept. 22 and 29, but there’s no evidence the data has been used in illegal activities. As a safety procedure, patients or gua..
Facebook announced Thursday it is rolling out Ad Breaks to 14 more markets, bringing the total number of countries with access to the 15-second in-stream ads to 40. It is also launching Watch globally on desktop and Facebook Lite. The company shared a long list of Watch announcements — from the original programs it is renewing in 2019 to stats that show more than 75 million daily Watch visitors spend an average of 20 minutes on the video platform. Why you should careThe expansion of Facebook’s video Ad Breaks — and by extension the global roll-out of Watch — signals the company is putting more of its efforts on video and hoping advertisers will follow suit. With the global roll-out of Watch on desktop and Facebook Lite, video advertisers running international campaigns on Facebook will have access to larger audiences as users will be able to access the video platform beyond their mobile app. According to Facebook, more than 75 million daily visitors spend, on average, 20 minutes on Wat..
A six-second Groupon spot featuring actress Tiffany Haddish was voted the best YouTube bumper ad of 2018. YouTube, in partnership with the Webby Awards, has released its full list of the top ads for 2018 spanning across seven different categories. The six nominees in the top bumper video ad category also included ads from Sargento Cheese, Pringles, Frigidaire, Colgate and Gorilla Tape. Why you should careVideo advertising continues to grow and the video marketing landscape is becoming more crowded across all platforms. Knowing which ads are most appealing to audiences offers a valuable point of insight for marketers — especially when considering video ads like YouTube’s bumper ads that run only six-seconds in length, a short amount of time to grab anyone’s attention. Groupon’s spot with Haddish was an extension of a campaign the brand kicked off during the Super Bowl. First introduced in 2016, YouTube’s bumper ads are designed to be add-ons to skippable TrueView ad campaigns. They are ..
Facebook announced Tuesday that it is testing ads in its search results. The test will run in the platform’s primary search results as well as in Marketplace search results. Why you should care Search is one of the few untapped inventory sources remaining on the social platform, which has seen many advertisers directing more budget to Instagram this year. The initial ad test in search results is limited to select automotive and retail advertisers, but if the company sees a promising response, it will open up search results ad inventory more broadly. “We’re running a small test to place ads in Facebook search results, and we’ll be evaluating whether these ads are beneficial for people and businesses before deciding whether to expand it,” said Facebook product manager Zoheb Hajiyani. Advertisers participating in the test can select “Search Results” as an additional placement option that will apply to both primary search and Marketplace search inventory. With the current group of beta-..
The UK’s National Health Service, one of the highest-profile victims of last year’s devastating WannaCry ransomware attack, has pledged to phase out fax machines from its trusts by 2020. NHS made headlines in 2017 when its entire fleet of healthcare institutions fell victim to WannaCry, the world’s virulent ransomware outbreak. Like many other victims of the WannaCry wrath, NHS had poor security practices in place and extremely outdated software on its systems (i.e. Windows XP). In a bid to prevent history from repeating itself, NHS is now pledging to do away with one of the oldest technologies still in its IT infrastructure: fax machines. The plans were announced by Secretary of State for Health and Social Care Matt Hancock, who mandated the use of modern communication methods, like secure email. According to The Independent, Richard Kerr, chair of the Royal College of Surgeons Commission on the Future of Surgery, said it was “absurd” that NHS still used fax machines. “Most other ..